• Address Ta-134/A, New York, USA

Best Yoga teacher training in Ukiah USA, Famous Male and Female Online Yoga Teachers & instructors

The Yoga Sutras: Transcending Limitations and Achieving Liberation


The Yoga Sutras is a collection of 196 aphorisms that provide a framework for the practice of yoga. It was compiled by the ancient Indian sage Patanjali, and it is considered one of the foundational texts of yoga philosophy.

The central theme of the Yoga Sutras is the attainment of liberation, or "moksha," which is the ultimate goal of yoga practice. According to Patanjali, the cause of suffering in human beings is ignorance, which leads to attachment, aversion, and the tendency to identify with the body and mind. To overcome this ignorance and attain liberation, Patanjali prescribes the eight-fold path of yoga, known as "Ashtanga Yoga."

The eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga are:

  1. Yama - ethical restraints
  2. Niyama - ethical observances
  3. Asana - physical postures
  4. Pranayama - breath control
  5. Pratyahara - withdrawal of the senses
  6. Dharana - concentration
  7. Dhyana - meditation
  8. Samadhi - enlightenment

By practicing these eight limbs, one can gradually transcend limitations and achieve liberation. Patanjali emphasizes the importance of a steady and sustained practice, as well as a deep understanding of the nature of the self and the universe.

Overall, the Yoga Sutras provides a comprehensive framework for the practice of yoga, both as a physical exercise and as a spiritual discipline. Its teachings continue to inspire and guide practitioners around the world, as they seek to transcend their limitations and realize their full potential.